Being Enough

I was going to start this with “Am I the only one…” but, as we know, you are never the only one, because humanity has existed for so long and in such large numbers, and will continue to exist for so long and in even larger numbers, that the diversity of their experiences encompasses perhaps all our imaginations and then some.

So I know I’m not the only one, but therein lies the problem: I am not the only one, and so I am not outstanding. Everything I have done, and am doing, and will do has been done by someone already, and most likely been done better.

There are folks who defy this paradigm, but I am not one of them. I do not possess the talent, I do not possess the drive, I do not possess the potential for greatness. There are many days when I feel as if I do not even possess the ability to be good in what I do, and it is an exhausting, ever-present fear that only serves to further lower my belief in myself and in what I do.

But I try my best all the same, and I hope that it is enough.

Leave a Reply

